It is with great pleasure and pride that the Joomla Production Leadership Team (PLT) announces the release of Joomla!® 1.6. Our community has been anticipating this milestone for many months. As we celebrate the arrival of the new version, we wish to recognize the many people who have made this day possible.

The PLT would like to thank everyone who contributed time, code and patches to make 1.6 happen. We covered the full spectrum of emotion while taking the 1,000-plus day journey, but in the end, all the hard work and commitment has paid off. With heartfelt appreciation, we would like to thank the following people for their efforts:

Adrian Louter, Adrian Victor III Onod, Airton Torres, Amy Stephen, Andrea Tarr, Andrew Eddie, Andy Capiau, Angie Radtke, Anja Hage, Anthony McLin, Antonio Escobar Tizon, Arlen Walker, Artyom Bisyarin, Benjamin Trenkle, Bill Richardson, Birger Lehner, Boris Baddenoff, Brian Teeman, C. Tapuscrine, Cherif Gouiaa, Chris Davenport, Christophe Demko, Christopher Garvis, Cristina Solana, CY Lee, Dennis Hermacki, Elin Waring, Ercan Ozkaya, Franklin Tse, Gergő Erdősi, Gobezu Sewu, Hannes Papenberg, Harry Reinhardt, Ian MacLennan, Iszak Bryan, Jacob Waisner, Janich Rasmussen, Jason Pettett, Jean-Marie Simonet, Jen Kramer, Jennifer Marriott, Jeremy Wilken, Jonatas Braganca, Jonnathan S. Lima, Joseph LeBlanc, Kevin Devine, Klas Berlič, Louis Landry, Loyd Headrick, Marijke Stuivenberg, Marius van Rijnsoever, Mark Dexter, Martijn Maandag, Mathavan Jeyadev, Matt Thomas, Michael Babker, Navid Zeraati, Nicholas Dionysopoulos, Nikolai Plath, Ole Bang Ottosen, Omar Ramos, Peter Osipof, Phani Kalluri, Phil Snell, Prasit Gebsaap, Radek Suski, Ramindu Deshapriya, Rob Joyce, Rob Schley, Robert Deutz, Roland Dalmulder, Ron Severdia, Ronald de Vries, Ronald Pijpers, Rouven Weßling, Rune Sjøen, Samuel Moffatt, Sander Potjer, Selene Feigl, Sergio Iglesias, Stefania Gaianigo, Steve Burge, Sudhi Seshachala, Thierry Bela, Tim Plummer, Tore Krudtaa, Troy Hall, Tudor Mazilu, Viet Hoang Vu, Zachary Draper.

It is impossible to name each contributor without whom 1.6 would not exist. So many individuals have given freely and selflessly to an amazing project for the benefit of its community of users, administrators, developers and designers.

Thanks also goes to those who contributed to the development of the help screens for Joomla 1.6: Javier Ballester, Klas Berlič, Josh [Coder4life], Scott Cooper, Miguel Costa, James Cutrone, Mark Dexter, Noel Dixon, Anja Hage, Dave Harker, Gauurang Khanna, Ian MacLennan, Denis Mouraux, Darcy Peal, Max Shinn, Rouven Weßling, Lica Wouters.

We thank the hundreds of people who made changes or additions to the documentation wiki during the 1.6 release cycle. The following deserve special mention: Rene Serradeil, Alex Bachmann, and Lorna Scammell.

Thank you to the people who worked through the weekend to prepare the Joomla 1.6 landing page and supporting materials ready. A big thanks goes to Kyle Ledbetter, who worked tirelessly on banners and the landing page design, and to Steve Burge for organizing this effort. Thanks also go to Alice Grevet, Allan Walker, Andrea Tarr, Andrew Eddie, Dianne Henning, Jacques Rentzke, Jean-Marie (JM) Simonet, Jen Kramer, John Coonen, Jonathan Neubauer, Kristoffer Sandven, Luis Méndez Alejo, Marco Corrò, Marijke Stuivenberg, Mark Dexter, Matt Lipscomb, Milena Mitova, Neil Malhar, Ole Bang Ottosen, Paul Orwig, Robert Deutz, Robert Vining, Ryan Ozimek, Sandra Warren, Tess Neale, and TJ Baker.

We’d also like to thank, in advance, all the people who will make implementing 1.6 a success. With the release of General Availability (GA) comes the enormous effort of compiling new language packs. We express our thanks and appreciation to the translation teams who will put a staggering number of hours into producing the required files. Thanks in advance to all the people that will assist with support on the forums and other sites and we bestow on you a blessing of wisdom and patience. We’d also like to honour all of the Joomla extension developers who will be furiously upgrading their code for compatibility with 1.6. We eagerly anticipate the amazing extensions and the innovation in both form and function.

Finally, we cannot pass up this opportunity to thank the Community Leadership Team (CLT), responsible for the web sites that keep the Joomla universe in orbit (the JED, JRD, JCM and more). Likewise we’d like to thank Open Source Matters for their continued support and stewardship of the project and the 1.6 release.

The hard work does not stop with this release. The PLT will continues the responsibility of overseeing the maintenance of both Joomla 1.5 and 1.6, and also coordinating the efforts for the production of the next version of Joomla, codenamed Bowerbird.

If you would like to stay informed about Joomla 1.6 news, please subcribe to our newsletter.