Joomla at Google Summer of Code Summit 2019

GSoC (Google Summer of Code) is an annual international program created by Google to bring more students to open-source software development. Students work with the open-source organization for three months while meeting the deadlines agreed upon with their mentors, and students receive a considerable stipend depending upon the country. Follow this link to learn more.

I was a GSoC 2018 student in the Joomla organization.
Joomla! is a free and open-source content management system (CMS) for publishing web content.
It was an excellent learning experience for me to open-source software development. I will encourage you to apply for Joomla GSoC. Follow this link to learn more.

I got the opportunity to become one of the Joomla mentors for GSoC 2019. At the end of the program, I got the chance to be one of 2 mentors, with Shivam Rajput, to represent Joomla at the GSoC Summit in Munich, Germany. Thanks to Joomla GSoC team!

Let's talk about the journey to Munich, Germany from India.
I was super excited because it was my first time outside India and my first-ever conference.

October 16: Landed one day before the event at Munich airport

We landed one day before the event around 5:20 AM. It's too cold! We waited for our bus at 6:20 AM then arrived at Hotel Marriott Munich around at 8:00 AM, got our rooms around noon after very much struggle :P. Then we spend our free time to roam around the hotel area.

The first photo I took in Munich:

image13

On this day, I met for the first time my Joomla GSoC admin, Puneet Kala. He was already in Munich for his work.

image2

Then, the three of us (Puneet, Shivam, and I) planned to roam the city. We took the day pass of the metro and visited many places like Marienplatz, Downtown. Wee went back at 8:00 PM, very tired, due to the jet lag. The only thing we wanted was to sleep!

image10image4image7

Good Night!

October 17: Event at Munich Marriott Hotel