JDayUSA extended session - Beyond responsive design

Actual timezone: Your browser's timezone is %s, which is different to your settings. Do you want to change to your browser timezone? Yes Close
JDayUSA extended session
Date
Thu Apr 27 2023 17:30 UTC
Organiser's Email
Event Url
https://jdayusa.com/sessions/sessions-2023/session-2023/april-27/slot-4-1/beyond-responsive-design-new-and-future-media-queries
Organiser's Name
Robin Clapp

Event Description

BEYOND RESPONSIVE DESIGN: NEW AND FUTURE MEDIA QUERIES

Information: 27 April 2023 12:30pm CDT (17:30 UTC) -  27 April 2023 1:30pm CDT (18:30 UTC)

After a decade of responsive design, "responsive" no longer just means "adapts to your screen size". Nowadays, websites can adapt to many different user preferences, device capabilities and even situational changes.So what are these new media queries and device capabilities, and what should we do with them? Kilian explains what that means for your development workflow and how you can use these capabilities to provide a better and more accessible experience for your users where you truly respond to their preferences. Information

Speaker: Kilian Valkhof

Kilian Valkhof is a seasoned developer who has been building tools for developers for over a decade. He is the founder of Polypane, a browser for developers designed to help build websites with a focus on responsive design, user experience, and accessibility. Kilian has been developing websites for two decades, with an emphasis on user experience, accessibility and web standards and has a long-standing interest in responsive design, dating back to 2008 when he wrote his first article on mobile web design and foresaw what media features would soon enable. Kilian shares his knowledge and experience through his blog, kilianvalkhof.com and elsewhere on the web, and as a member of the Electron governance team and an open source contributor.