We are happy to announce that the recommendation phase for the President replacement role has been finalised. The following individuals have proposed their nominations, according to the new Nomination process. Included are their Manifestos and the timeline for the election for their role.

Note: This is election follows the new methodology that provides different timelines based on number and type of candidates.

President (Replacement)

Robert Deutz

Robert Deutz

Robert's Manifesto


Recommendations for Robert|closed

I have known Robert for many years from the perspective of JandBeyond. As an organiser and as a workshop lead. In that time I have greatly benefited from his and the JandBeyond teams excellent events. That in itself shows his skill as a communicator and facilitator, but also his generosity of time putting such an event on.
I then got to know Robert when I was asked to Join the CMS release team as he was then the lead. We worked together on the handover and on sorting a few issues. That gave me a different perspective, one that made correct decisions based on knowledge and good judgement.
Then for the last few years I have seen Robert at work in the Production Department and know how much he does without saying, works but never for a reward. He is the opposite of a "badge holder" he forgets to put the badge on but gets the work done often leaving others to get the credit.
He has excellent knowledge of the product, which at the time of a new Major version is a key requisite for anyone who will be promoting and pushing the product.
Robert can delegate, he also has the weight in the organisation to get things done knowing who to contact and why.
Robert is an excellent choice for President, just when Joomla needs an excellent President, and if elected I will be happy to serve on the board with him at the helm. - Philip Walton

Robert's been involved in the community since the start and brings a huge amount of experience with the roll. Most importantly helping keeping Joomla relevant within Germany - a model vital for us to roll out through the rest of the world. I have no doubts in recommending him for this role. - George Wilson

Vikas Pisal

Vikas Pisal

Vikas' Manifesto


Recommendations for Vikas|closed

Vikas can really make the difference, we need some serious changes on the leadership! - Djamel Kherbi

Election ballots form automatically closes on August 06, 2021 at 23.59 UTC.


Manifestos are published as provided by the candidates. The views and opinions expressed in candidates' manifestos are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Open Source Matters, Inc. - Under no circumstances, Open Source Matters, Inc. shall be held responsible or liable in any way for any claims, damages or liabilities whatsoever resulting or arising directly or indirectly from the views expressed in candidates' manifestos.

Election’s timeline and methodologies

President Replacement Election

This election falls under the “New Department Coordinator / Officer Contested Empty Board Seat - Replacement Elections” scenario in which there are multiple candidates that would be new in the role and the incumbent Board Member transitioned to another role or resigned.

Adjusted Timeline

Following the expected standard timeline. In the case of Uncontested same or new Board member, the timeline would be shorter, as outlined in the Election Policy page.

Recommendations published & Ballots sent out July 30 The Secretary publishes the recommendations received for each Candidate. Voting parties have seven (7) days to submit their preferences. Ballots shall also have the opportunity to vote for "None of the above".  
Ballots close August 06 Ballots automatically close at 23.59 UTC of the 7th day after the ballots are sent out.
Results announced / First Day in Office August 07 The Secretary publishes the Elections Results announcement. The elected Candidate will start immediately serving as the Replacement for the remaining term of Office.

Communication Channels

Election channels will be opened in Glip for each role. These channels will allow department/community members to ask candidates questions regarding their manifestos in order to help them decide who to vote for. The following Public Channels will be opened (Candidates will be added by the Secretary):

  • OSM-2021-PresidentReplacement-Channel

Voters (Officer Elections)

List of voters as of June 29, 2021|closed

  • Abdulkadir Shehu
  • Achilleas Papageorgiou
  • Ahmad Moussa
  • Alison Meeks
  • Alkaios Anagnostopoulos
  • Andrea Gentil
  • Anibal Sanchez
  • Anja de Crom
  • Anurag Kumar
  • Beat
  • Benjamin Trenkle
  • Carlos Camara
  • Chris Keen
  • Christiane Maier-Stadtherr
  • Claire Mandville
  • Claudia Weber-Lenck
  • David Jardin
  • David Neukirchen
  • David Opati Aswani
  • Davide Messia
  • Donata Kalnenaite
  • Donato Matturro
  • Fedir Zinchuk
  • Franciska Perisa
  • George Wilson
  • Giovanni Genovino
  • Hannes Papenberg
  • Hans Kuijpers
  • Hans van der Meer
  • Harald Leithner
  • Hugh Douglas-Smith
  • Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam
  • Jacob Waisner
  • Jaz Parkyn
  • Jennifer Gress
  • Jeroen Moolenschot
  • JM Simonet
  • Joe Sonne
  • Josean Telleria
  • Justine Ayebale Abunyanga
  • Justyna Michallek
  • Laura Gordon
  • Llewellyn van der Merwe
  • Luca Marzo
  • Luca Racchetti
  • Marc Widmann
  • Marco Dings
  • Marianela Queme
  • Mark Fleeson
  • Mark Lee
  • Mark W. Bender
  • Martijn Maandag
  • Mike Brandner
  • Nicola Galgano
  • Niels Braczek
  • Oh Martin
  • Olaf Offick
  • Patrick Jackson
  • Per Yngve Berg
  • Peter Martin
  • Philip Walton
  • Quy Ton
  • Rachel Walraven
  • Radek Suski
  • Richard Fath
  • Richard Gosler
  • Robert Deutz
  • Roland Dalmulder
  • Sander Potjer
  • Sandra Decoux
  • Sebastien Lapoux
  • Shirielle Williams
  • Shivam Rajput
  • Sigrid Gramlinger
  • Stefan Wajda
  • Stefan Wendhausen
  • Székely Dénes
  • Tobias Zulauf
  • Todd Woodward
  • Toivo Talikka
  • Tom Hutchison
  • Tom van der Laan
  • Troy Hall
  • Tuan Pham Ngoc
  • Vito Disimino
  • Viviana Menzel
  • Wilco Alsemgeest


Thank you!