Article Index
Building Websites with Joomla! 1.5.x
Building The Site
Essential Extensions
Other Extensions
Conclusion
All Pages

Introduction

When I decided to publish my Engineering wisdom on the internet, and later to set up a website for my Personal Development business, I knew that I would need a Content Management System (CMS) to do the job properly. Although I was an experienced Embedded Systems Engineer in a past life, I hadn't ever done any serious web publishing before so I had no idea where to start and expected there would be quite a learning curve. I ended up using Joomla!, which has done the job quite nicely. This article describes what I learned along the way, including some tips to save you time setting up a website of your own.

My Requirements

I started off as all good Engineers do, by defining my requirements. And while I was doing that, I started playing around with some different CMS's to see which ones had the best chance of meeting them. The requirements for the CMS were all based on the features that I wanted the site to support, which were as follows:

• Publish an existing base of content involving mostly text, with some pictures.

• Allow addition of new content items in the future as inspiration to write them hit.

• Good Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) with Search Engine Friendly (SEF) URLs.

• Ability to hyperlink between content items easily.

• An automatic newsletter containing new content.

• A random content choice on the home page, so it's always “fresh”.

• The site should be automated and look after itself when I'm not around.

• The CMS should be free (or at least cheap) and preferably open-source.

Picking A CMS